Minimize Your Delaware Franchise Tax Filing

Cleer Tax has helped 1000s of companies ensure they pay as little as possible in Delaware Franchise Taxes.
professional entrepreneur work alone in home offic 2023 11 27 05 11 44 utc

Delaware businesses, don’t miss the March 1st deadline for your annual Delaware Franchise Tax! 

This tax is mandatory each year for the privilege of incorporating in Delaware, regardless of your revenue or activity level. Failing to file your Delaware Franchise Tax Filing results in a $200 penalty.

There are two primary calculation methods: based on share numbers, or on gross assets. Completing the calculations correctly can dramatically impact your tax bill, potentially saving you up to $100k+!

This is where Cleer Tax shines: expertly completing these confusing tax calculations, so you maximize your tax savings.

You can count on us to simplify the process by preparing all necessary documentation, then give you a code to pay your Delaware Franchise Tax Filing fees directly online with minimal hassle.

Delaware Franchise Tax Preparation
$ 199 for the preparation
  • Calculation of Delaware Franchise Tax to make sure you pay the lowest amount
  • Answer any questions you have via email about Delaware Franchise Taxes
  • Price includes any revisions, amendments or resolution work that is needed in the year of purchase

Have questions?

C-Corps and LLCs both need to file, but the requirements are different.

Any C-Corp incorporated in the State of Delaware, regardless of ownership, must file every year on March 1st, or receive an automatic $200 penalty. Delaware assesses an annual franchise tax for the privilege of doing business in the state. This return or “Annual Report” must be filed by March 1st with the state of Delaware each year, regardless of income or activity, as long as the business is registered in the state. 

Unlike corporations, Delaware LLCs are not required to file an Annual Report. However, they are obligated to pay an Annual Franchise Tax of $300, a flat rate applicable to all LLCs formed in Delaware. This tax is mandatory regardless of the LLC’s income or level of business activity. This is due on June 1st.

If we don’t receive your information by February 27th, we will not be able to meet the deadline.

Yes, even if your company had no activity you will still need to file the Franchise tax in Delaware. This is basically a tax for having a corporation in Delaware.

There are two ways to calculate the Delaware franchise tax – one based on the number of shares issued by the company and one based on the assets of the company. This can be confusing for people and lead to a shockingly high bill (6 figures in some cases). Many of our clients prefer for us to prepare their Delaware franchise tax so they avoid the mild heart attack that can come from a miscalculation. 

This will be business-dependent. If you have a lot of issued shares and not many assets then the share method will likely be more expensive. If you have lots of assets but haven’t issued many shares then the asset method may be more expensive. This is why we calculate it both ways, to make sure you get the best deal.  

We make purchasing your Annual Report easy. After you pay for our services, a link will be sent to complete our simple questionnaire. When we receive it, we assign one of our experienced Delaware Franchise Tax prep specialists, who may ask for additional information. Once the form is prepared, you will receive a link to the Delaware website to pay the filing fee and tax due with your credit card or bank account.  Then print and save a copy of the receipt.  

It’s best to save a copy of the receipt in your records. If you were ever audited, the IRS does not accept credit card statements as proof of payment so you need actual receipts. Plus, if Delaware ever asked then you would want to have the statement on hand. 

Delaware Franchise Tax Annual Report Filing

Delaware Franchise Tax Preparation
$ 199 for the preparation
  • Calculation of Delaware Franchise Tax to make sure you pay the lowest amount
  • Answer any questions you have via email about Delaware Franchise Taxes
  • Price includes any revisions, amendments or resolution work that is needed in the year of purchase

Still have questions?

C-Corps and LLCs both need to file, but the requirements are different.

Any C-Corp incorporated in the State of Delaware, regardless of ownership, must file every year on March 1st, or receive an automatic $200 penalty. Delaware assesses an annual franchise tax for the privilege of doing business in the state. This return or “Annual Report” must be filed by March 1st with the state of Delaware each year, regardless of income or activity, as long as the business is registered in the state. 

Unlike corporations, Delaware LLCs are not required to file an Annual Report. However, they are obligated to pay an Annual Franchise Tax of $300, a flat rate applicable to all LLCs formed in Delaware. This tax is mandatory regardless of the LLC’s income or level of business activity. This is due on June 1st.

If we don’t receive your information by February 27th, we will not be able to meet the deadline.

Yes, even if your company had no activity you will still need to file the Franchise tax in Delaware. This is basically a tax for having a corporation in Delaware.

There are two ways to calculate the Delaware franchise tax – one based on the number of shares issued by the company and one based on the assets of the company. This can be confusing for people and lead to a shockingly high bill (6 figures in some cases). Many of our clients prefer for us to prepare their Delaware franchise tax so they avoid the mild heart attack that can come from a miscalculation. 

This will be business-dependent. If you have a lot of issued shares and not many assets then the share method will likely be more expensive. If you have lots of assets but haven’t issued many shares then the asset method may be more expensive. This is why we calculate it both ways, to make sure you get the best deal.  

We make purchasing your Annual Report easy. After you pay for our services, a link will be sent to complete our simple questionnaire. When we receive it, we assign one of our experienced Delaware Franchise Tax prep specialists, who may ask for additional information. Once the form is prepared, you will receive a link to the Delaware website to pay the filing fee and tax due with your credit card or bank account.  Then print and save a copy of the receipt.  

It’s best to save a copy of the receipt in your records. If you were ever audited, the IRS does not accept credit card statements as proof of payment so you need actual receipts. Plus, if Delaware ever asked then you would want to have the statement on hand. 

Start your financial journey on the right foot

Get $150 discount off your bookkeeping or tax package.